“Master” building on Ubuntu and Mac

Yesterday I got the “master” branch of Android to build on both an Ubuntu 10.10 and on Snow Leopard.  I don’t know if I can build Froyo and earlier, on either.  Apparently it depends on Java 5.  It’s a low priority experiment, anyway.

The Ubuntu build was completely straight-forward, once I installed the 64-bit OS.  To my surprise, I was able to install all of the apps I normally use, including Skype!  Linux gets better and better, every time I look at it.  I frequently find myself repeating the ancient incantations that used to be necessary to get things working (/etc/init.d/smb restart), only to find that they’ve been replaced by perfectly civilized and functional UIs.

I still haven’t figured out how to drag windows between workspaces.

The Snow Leopard build was only slightly more complicated: it failed on a device out of space error.  The Google Doc says that 8G is sufficient.  Maybe back when the docs were written.  The full build occupies 10G of the 13G case-sensitive disk image I built for it.

Today is for studying AIDL

About bmeike
Android developer and evangelist in Oakland, CA

Leave a Reply

